HLT-NAACL 2003 Logo

[ Conference Organizers ]
[ Reviewers ]
   [ Program Committee ]
   [ Full Papers Reviewers ]
   [ Short Papers Reviewers ]

Local Arrangements

[ About Edmonton ]
[ Travel ]
[ Hotel Accommodations ]
[ Conference Registration ]

Call for Participation

[ Full Papers ]
[ Short Papers / Posters ]
[ Demonstrations ]
[ Tutorials ]
[ Workshops ]
[ Submission Format ]
[ Camera Ready Format ]
[ Online submissions ]


home >> call for participation


Human language technology (HLT) incorporates a broad spectrum of disciplines working towards two closely related goals: to enable computers to interact with humans using natural language, and to serve as useful adjuncts to humans in tasks involving language by providing services such as automatic translation, automated speech recognition, information retrieval, text summarization, and information extraction.

HLT-NAACL 2003 will run from Tuesday May 27 through Sunday June 1, 2003. Its sessions will include technical presentations of peer-reviewed (full) papers, late-breaking (short) papers, posters, and system demonstrations. Invited speakers and panelists will discuss the state of today's human language technology. Tutorials will be presented on various aspects of Human Language Technology (including Information Retrieval, Speech Processing, and Natural Language Processing). The conference will host workshops on various topics, including a workshop organized by and devoted to graduate students.

HLT-NAACL 2003 combines the conference series of HLT and NAACL (North American Chapter of the Association for Computational Linguistics). As an experiment in encouraging synergy and reducing "conference overload", the organizers of HLT and the NAACL Executive agreed to a combined conference in 2003. The conference provides a unified forum for researchers to present recent, high-quality, cutting-edge work, to exchange ideas, and to explore emerging new research directions.

As described in the calls for submissions of papers and demonstrations at http://www.htl-naacl03.org, the conference especially encourages reports of work on synergistic combinations of language technologies (e.g., Speech Processing with Information Retrieval, Machine Translation with Speech, Question Answering with Natural Language Processing, etc.). Papers that announce or accompany new resources or available software are also especially encouraged. In addition, the conference will give special consideration to papers that address a special topic: New approaches to and uses of unsupervised and lightly supervised learning techniques.

The conference organization is overseen by a board representing the North American Chapter of the Association for Computational Linguistics (NAACL), ACM SIGIR, the International Speech Communication Association (ISCA), and HLT funding agencies in North America.


Dec 30, 2002 Due: full papers; proposals for tutorials and workshops
Feb 24, 2003 Notification of acceptance of full papers, tutorials, and workshops
Mar 7 Due: late-breaking short papers/posters
Mar 20 Due: demos
March 30 Due: camera-ready full papers
Apr 16 Notification of acceptance of late-breaking submissions
May 27-Jun 1 Conference:
May 27 Tutorials
May 28-30 Conference proper
May 31-Jun 1 Workshops


The conference will be held in Edmonton, Canada, at the Westin Edmonton hotel (www.thewestinedmonton.com, tel. (780) 426-3636). Accommodation will also be provided at dormitories of the University of Alberta and at other nearby hotels.

Edmonton is home to more than 10,000 acres of parkland and the world's largest indoor mall. In the heart of downtown, the Westin Edmonton is one of the city's premier hotels, located near the arts district, theaters, and shopping. Special low room rates (approx $US 75) have been negotiated.

The conference will take place in late Spring, during which Edmonton usually enjoys good weather. For information about the city, visit http://www.gov.edmonton.ab.ca/. A visual tour of the city appears at http://www.vredmonton.com/.


General chair: Eduard Hovy (USC / Information Sciences Institute)
Program co-chairs: Marti Hearst (UC Berkeley),
Mari Ostendorf (U Washington)
Local Arrangements chair: Dekang Lin (U of Alberta)
Demonstration Co-chairs: Bob Frederking (CMU); Bob Younger (SPAWAR)
Workshop and Tutorial Co-chairs: James Allan (U Mass, Amherst)
Wayne Ward (U Colorado, Boulder)
Jason Eisner( Johns Hopkins U)
Program Committee: Srinivas Bangalore (AT&T Research)
Bill Byrne (Johns Hopkins U)
Charles Clarke (U Waterloo)
Mike Collins (MIT)
Sue Dumais (Microsoft Research)
Joshua Goodman (Microsoft Research)
Ralph Grishman (NYU)
Sanda Harabagiu (UT Dallas)
Kevin Knight (ISI/USC)
John Makhoul (BBNT Verizon)
Inderjeet Mani (MITRE)
Chris Manning (Stanford U)
Daniel Marcu (ISI/USC)
Fernando Pereira (U Pennsylvania)
Philip Resnik (U Maryland)
Doug Reynolds (MIT Lincoln Lab)
Stephanie Seneff (MIT)
Richard Sproat (AT&T Research)
Andreas Stolcke (SRI/ICSI)
Steve Young (U Cambridge)

Conference Oversight Committee: Donna Harman (NIST), Lynette Hirschman (MITRE), Graeme Hirst (U Toronto; chair), Karen Kukich (NSF), John Prange (ARDA), Dragomir Radev (U Michigan), Salim Roukos (IBM), Charles Wayne (DARPA), David Yarowsky (Johns Hopkins U)